Every Kid Deserves a Champion

When I read or see something that inspires me, I like to blog about it.  The other night I was surprised when my husband asked me if I was aware of Ted Talk.  I replied, “Yes” and he went on to tell me about the value of the videos he was watching to try to help my son who was struggling with a Grade 12 chemistry concept.

These days I read every thing George Couros writes in his blog.  He wrote this morning “I rarely just post a video into my blog and provide no commentary, but this is a pretty amazing Ted Talk.  It is seven minutes and is extremely valuable to all of those in the teaching profession.”  Watch the short video.  It speaks for itself.

I love Rita’s message at the end of the video….the message that positive relationships with students are key.  She states that teaching and learning should bring joy and encourage our students to take risks with their learning.  Thirty years in this profession and I can still say that teaching and learning brings joy.  As I work with principals and teachers to take risks in their learning (specifically in regards to assessment practices) and to bring joy to their teaching, I agree with Rita.  The job isn’t always easy.  In fact it is really hard work.  However, it is NOT impossible.  We CAN do it and as Barrack Obama says, “Yes we can!”  We are born to make a difference.

About lgatzke

I am an assessment supervisor passionate about getting kids smarter. As Dylan Wiliam says, "Smart is not something you are, smart is something you get".
This entry was posted in Assessment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

