iPad Ap For Informal Running Records

Record

I was wondering when this would happen. In talking with my colleague Kira, she mentioned that there was an iPad ap for doing oral reading records. When Kira mentioned this I wondered how it would work with coding errors.  Those of you that know me know my passion for moving assessment and instruction forward. I think this ap falls into that category. I played with Record of Reading tonight, available from the ap store and here is what I liked.

1.  Students can be recorded easily.  That means we can have students read the book and come back to coding the errors later. AND I don’t have to search out a cassette tape recorder or download a special program.

2.  There is a drop down menu to choose a level. Therefore it could be used with any levelled book in our system. That means that running records could be done by all similar to what LLI teachers are doing with their resource. That is called formative assessment in my book and essential to helping kids improve in reading.  From my world of assessment, it makes it just a tad easier to make running records part of my everyday classroom practice.

3.  I coded with my stylus. There is no text there to follow. I tapped a line for each word read correctly and coded the miscue. The beauty was in the analysis. I just tapped either the error or self correction column and then immediately was sent to the analysis column.

3.  I was able to choose from a drop down for fluency and could even write an anecdote about the reading.

4.  When done I could save the record sheet as well as email. I like that I could easily share it with my principal, LRT, parent, assessment supervisor.  🙂

5.  No translation necessary and so Monique, Frankie, Isabelle and Ian, even FI teachers could use it for informal Oral Reading Records.

6.  It is a FREE ap. check it out.  (I did and I emailed myself my record sheet).

About lgatzke

I am an assessment supervisor passionate about getting kids smarter. As Dylan Wiliam says, "Smart is not something you are, smart is something you get".
This entry was posted in Assessment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to iPad Ap For Informal Running Records

  1. lgatzke says:

    I agree. Pretty cool. I am not sure if one can send the video recording but a really good thought. Imagine the power of that? Once you have figured that out, let us all know.

  2. erikvandusen says:

    So cool and too good to be true. I’m going to try it tonight with my six-year old son. Looking at your list of things you like most about this app, I’m most excited about with #4 regarding sharing. If my kids’ teachers emailed records throughout the year, I’d be one happy camper. I’m wondering if the audio recording is attached when you share the record. Does it? I’ll send my son’s file to find out.

    I’m guessing this app won’t be free for long. Time to grab it while I can.

Leave a Reply

